RSS

The Straightening Comb

12 Sep

Today is the day most African American women spend part of their day at the Beauty Shop getting their hair done. Some get a wash and set. Some may get a perm, twists, braids, or straightened.  Today I did  my own hair. First I did a wash and set.  Then after being outside on the soccer field my hair was wind blown and looking crazy so, I straightened my hair.  I know you saying girl, just go the shop and I say girl, I am saving myself some money honey! Yes, I straighten my hair. Girl, I have to admit, the hair looks good.  Madame C. J. Walker invented the straightening comb and hair softener.

Madame C. J. Walker’s inventions indeed changed the life of African American Women. African American women no longer had to wear just braids, twists, or the afro. Now the hair could be straightened.  Even with the hair straight there is still a lot of bounce and body. So lovely.

In 1909 Madame C. J. Walker invented her hair softener and a special straightening comb. Instantaneously she was in business.  She trained people on how to use the products and allocated franchises.  Her annual payroll was over $200,000.  Madame C. J. Walker was the first female self made millionaire. This wonderful invention laid the foundation of the cosmetics industry for African American Woman.

Thank you Madame C. J. Walker for the straightening comb and the hair softener.

More to come from the Africana Princess.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 12, 2010 in Love

 

Leave a Reply

 
To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Christian CoffeeShop

My Journey Through The Scriptures

My CrossWalk

just a normal guy living in a abnormal world and this is My CrossWalk

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Mindful Blogging

Musing my way to mindfulness....

iwanttobelieveingod

A blog for spiritual seekers of the Truth.

Bishop Michael Reid

Miracles - Healing - Faith

Mind of Andy

Improve society through insights & life quality!

