RSS

Parent Driving Lesson

22 Aug

When our oldest son got his drivers permit, I decided he could drive home after the test.  So, I have him start the car and we go through the motions of talking about the mirrors, brakes, gas etc.. We drive out of the parking space and proceed to the end of the parking lot which leads to the main road. He put on the signal and goes to make the turn. The turn was wide, not bad, easy fix. We now have to merge into a busy street and we make the turn. Again, wide turn. Then we go to make a right turn, we are up on the curb and down the curb.  Now, I am speaking sternly but in a low tone, so I thought!   We continued down the road and my is son moving along, but he is not understanding the concept of braking and we go up on the curb again. Why are you going so fast I ask?  The boy is only going 10 miles per hour and it feels like 50 to me.  From my seat, I see flashes of possible accidents with the cars, trees and telephone polls. A 10 minute drive to our home turned into 25 minutes. We finally make it home and we are up on the curb.  He parts the car in front house on the curb. No need to move it I said.  Just put the car in park and turn it off.  I get out of the car and my legs were shaking.  I am not a drinker, however, I would have took a drink that day to calm my nerves.  Eventually my oldest son got his license. Yes he is an excellent driver. However we had some moments when he did scare the socks of us.

Lesson learned, do not let your child drive home after taking his driver permit test. He is still wet behind the ears.

Now our middle son got his drivers permit and  I did not let him drive home. No way. I drove home. Parent driving lesson number 1 took place at the High School with no cars.

Now son number 2 is learning on the side streets. He is getting better. According to our middle son , I stress him out because I panic. Really?  🙂 The oldest son can no jump out of the car and say boy a 10 minute ride took us 30 minutes.

We will have 1 chauffeur and 1 in the making. We do not have to go back to the store anymore to grab that item that was not on the grocery list. We just say, oh Son!!!!

Be Blessed!

Picture from blog.esurance.com

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2013 in Love

 

Leave a Reply

 
To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Christian CoffeeShop

My Journey Through The Scriptures

My CrossWalk

just a normal guy living in a abnormal world and this is My CrossWalk

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Mindful Blogging

Musing my way to mindfulness....

iwanttobelieveingod

A blog for spiritual seekers of the Truth.

Bishop Michael Reid

Miracles - Healing - Faith

Mind of Andy

Improve society through insights & life quality!

