RSS

A Mothers Word

12 Nov

Proverbs 1:8-9 King James Version (KJV) My son, hear the instruction of thy father, and forsake not the law of thy mother: For they shall be an ornament of grace unto thy head, and chains about thy neck.

Our text focus is “and do not forsake the law of your mother”.

Growing up my mom would  tell me “when you go out, go in a group, do not go by yourself. When you get married, what ever you did to get your man (assuming it was done righteously) continue to do that and greet him when he returns from work with a smile. “When you get in your car, pray for safe traveling mercies. Pray for those people who are driving around you so that they will be safe too. Pray where ever you go.”

One day while bike riding with my husband and youngest son down a long hill, I looked up and I saw a person driving their car fast. The person was looking down and the car was veering in my direction. “Jesus”, I said, the person looked up and straightened the car. The prayers that were sent before us for safe travel and the name of Jesus, kept me safe from harm.

I have also passed the same teachings on to my children.  My husband and I also have them put on the whole Armour of God before they leave the house. It is a requirement for the entire family.

Ephesian 6:13-19. 13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. 14 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; 15 And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: 18 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints; 19 And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel, 

Instead of saying you, we say “I” and we make it personal.

What things do you recall your mom saying that you still hold to this day?

Be Blessed!

Picture credits to http://www.webweaver.nu/clipart/baby-new-parents.shtml

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2014 in Inspiration

 

Leave a Reply

 
To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Christian CoffeeShop

My Journey Through The Scriptures

My CrossWalk

just a normal guy living in a abnormal world and this is My CrossWalk

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Mindful Blogging

Musing my way to mindfulness....

iwanttobelieveingod

A blog for spiritual seekers of the Truth.

Bishop Michael Reid

Miracles - Healing - Faith

Mind of Andy

Improve society through insights & life quality!

